Architecture of Antwerp

its style | its uniqueness | its heart

Architecture of Antwerp, Belgium

Sep 18, 2016Architecture

Antwerp

Fashion capital of Flanders

Antwerp is located near the Scheldt river, linked to the North Sea by the Westerschelde estuary. The Port of Antwerp is one of the biggest in the world, ranking second in Europe.

Fortified City

Although it was formerly a fortified city, hardly anything remains of the former enceinte, only some remains of the city wall can be seen near the Vleeshuis museum at the corner of Bloedberg and Burchtgracht. A replica of a castle named Het Steen has been partly rebuilt on the quay in the 19th century.
This castle attracts many tourists each year and the statue of the Lange Wapper awaits them in front of the sloped bridge of Belgian blocks or setts.

Kieldrecht Lock

Previously known as the Deurganckdoksluis, is the world’s largest lock, taking over this title from the Berendrecht Lock.
The lock was opened on June 10, 2016 in the presence of King Philippe of Belgium.

Length: 500 metres (1,600 ft.) –
Width: 68 metres (223 ft.) –
Operational Depth (TAW): 17.8 metres (58 ft.) –
No. Lock Gates: four, sliding lock gates –

Eugeen Van Mieghem

(October 1, 1875 – March 24, 1930) was a Belgian artist born in the port of Antwerp, who is famous for his drawings and paintings of harbour scenes. As a boy Van Mieghem was confronted with the harsh reality of life at the waterfront.

Emigrants in Montevideo Street, 1899, pastel

Emigranten in de Montevideostraat
Emigrants in Montevideo street
1899

Landverhuizers aan de Nassaubrug, ca 1901, oil on canvas

Landverhuizers aan de Nassaubrug
Emigrants at the Nassau bridge
ca. 1901

Women of the docks, oil on canvas

Havenvrouwen
Women of the docks
ca. 1927

Courthouse of Antwerp

Inaugurated on March 28, 2006 by King Albert.
Designed by architect Richard Rogers.
The building cost 280 million euros or nearly four times the estimated amount.

Royal Museum of fine arts

This neoclassical building was completed in 1894 and is one of the primary landmarks of the Zuid district of Antwerp. It opened its doors to the public in 1890 and the construction begun in 1884.
Designed by Jacob Winders (1849–1936) and Frans van Dijk (1853-1839).
The Royal Museum of Fine Arts houses a collection of paintings, sculptures and drawings from the fourteenth to the twentieth centuries.
At the end of 2011 the museum closed to the public for major renovations. Planned reopening is in 2019.

Welcome to Antwerp

de R1 – Ring om Antwerpen

This ring road is largely built on the area of the former Brialmont Fortress around the city of Antwerp, which was constructed between 1859 and 1863.
Length: 17 kilometres in both directions (10.56 mi.) –
No. lanes: 10 –
Traffic: between 100.000 and 130.000 vehicles per direction –
More than 24.000 trucks use the R1 per day –

The commemoration of WWI in Antwerp

2014, the year that Antwerp took part of the commemoration of the First World War (1914 to 1918).
A pontoon bridge as a peace bridge across the Scheldt river, it was a unique experience for the many tens of thousands of visitors who crossed the River Scheldt on foot, following the footsteps of the Belgian army as well as of the more than 10,000 refugees who fled a burning city in search of a safe haven.

deSingel

The place to be for artists, musicians and exhibitions of all sorts.
Designed by architect Léon Stynen (1899-1990), opened on November 4, 1980 in the presence of the royal couple Boudewijn en Fabiola.

» Written by Alan who goes under the name of twin-rhino | Published on September 16, 2013

» RELATED POSTS